Home    Bucket List Events Blog
Who won the FIFA World Cup?

The FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious tournament in the world and has been held 21 times since the first tournament in 1930 (Uruguay).  Brazil is the only team to have competed in every World Cup and they have earned five championships over the years. Teams like the United States haven’t had the same results and for many years they simply struggled to qualify.   

Despite being a world event, only eight countries have ever won the tournament.  Of those eight countries, only five of them have had the exciting opportunity to be crowned champions when they hosted the tournament.  Below is a list of the winners ranked in order based on the number of championships they have won and the years they won those championships.

Brazil – 5 (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2022)

Germany – 4 (1954, 1974*, 1990, 2014)

Italy – 4 (1934*, 1938, 1986, 2002)

Argentina – 2 (1978*, 1986)

France – 2 (1998*, 2018)

Uruguay – 2 (1930*, 1950)

England – 1 (1966*)

Spain – 1 (2010)

*Host country

USMNT World Cup appearances and results

The United States Men’s National Soccer Team (USMNT) has only appeared in ten FIFA World Cup Tournaments. The team competed in the first world cup in 1930 (Uruguay) and did surprisingly well, reaching the semi-finals.  Today, this is still the best result for USA.  In 1934 (Italy) and 1950 (Brazil), the team returned to compete but fell short.  After 1950, USA didn’t qualify again until 1990 (Italy).  Beginning in the 90’s, the USA started becoming a regular competitor at the tournament, going on to make seven straight appearances.  The USA even hosted the tournament in 1994 and will co-host with Canada and Mexico in 2026.    Having not qualified for the 2018 World Cup in Russia, the USMNT is ready to return to the world stage in Qatar (2022).  Currently, more than half of USMNT is playing soccer for European Clubs and some say this young and powerful team has the chance to do great things.  Do you think the United States Men’s National Team has the chance to join the list of FIFA World Cup champions?

Experience Qatar and the World Cup

Do you want to plan to attend the FIFA World Cup in Qatar in 2022?  With USA and Mexico likely to qualify, companies like Bucket List Events make it possible for fans to plan early, save, and even pay monthly to secure their spot in Qatar.  Group stage travel packages including one, two or all three team’s matches are available but limited as well as semi and final travel packages.  There is something special about experiencing the excitement of the World Cup in person and you don’t want to miss this opportunity. Whether you are a futbol (soccer) fan or not, this event should be on everyone’s bucket list.  Make plans to root for your team in Qatar and reach out to Bucket List Events today.

Comments Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply