Home   Sporting Events   Women’s World Cup 2023    Frequently Asked Questions
Women’s World Cup 2023
Australia & New Zealand . July 20 – Aug 20, 2023

Frequently Asked Questions

When is the Women’s World Cup?

The Women’s World Cup 2023 is set for July 20 – August 20, 2023

FIFA Women's World Cup

Who will host the 2023 Women’s World Cup?

The Women’s World Cup will take place in nine cities in Australia and New Zealand. Neither country has ever hosted a major tournament, and this will only be the second World Cup and first women’s tournament held in multiple countries.  The Women’s World Cup cities include Australia cities Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Melbourne and Brisbane, along with New Zealand cities Auckland, Dunedin, Wellington and Hamilton.

How many teams will compete in the 2023 Women’s World Cup?

The tournament is expanding from 24 to 32 teams, meaning more opportunities to see matches. Take advantage of this incredible opportunity to witness history, follow your favorite teams, and visit this unique and beautiful area of the world.

Scheduled to participate:

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China PR, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea Republic, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Philippines, Republic of Ireland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, USA, Vietnam, Zambia.

Do you offer packages to follow Team USA?

Yes, We offer 4, 8, and 12 night packages for the group stage matches.  You decide which matches you want to experience and you can build your own trip.  Join us for one match or all three.  It’s up to you!  Space is limited, so learn more and make plans to join us. More information HERE.

FIFA Women's World Cup

When does Team USA play in the Women’s World Cup?

The first three Team USA games are scheduled to play in New Zealand. They will take on Vietnam on July 22 in Auckland, the Netherlands on July 27 in Wellington, and a team to be determined on August 1 back in Auckland.

FIFA Women's World Cup

Where are the Women’s World Cup venues?

Brisbane Stadium – Brisbane / Meaanjin, Australia

Dunedin Stadium – Dunedin / Ōtepoti, New Zealand

Eden Park – Auckland / Tāmaki Makaurau, New Zealand

Hindmarsh Stadium – Adelaide / Tarntanya, Australia

Melbourne Rectangular Stadium – Melbourne / Naarm, Australia

Perth Rectangular Stadium – Perth / Boorloo, Australia

Stadium Australia – Adelaide / Tarntanya, Australia

Sydney Football Stadium – Sydney / Gadigal, Australia

Waikato Stadium – Hamilton / Kirikiriroa, New Zealand

Wellington Regional Stadium – Wellington / Te Whanganui-a-Tara, New Zealand

Who won the last Women’s World Cup?

The United States defeated the Netherlands 2-0 in the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2019. The tournament took place in France.

When was the first FIFA Women’s World Cup?

The inaugural tournament took place in 1991 in China. The event was known as the FIFA Women’s World Championship. A total of 12 teams participated, with the USA defeated Norway to win the first championship.

Who holds the record for most goals scored in the FIFA Women’s World Cup?

1 Marta  Brazil 17 20 0.85 2003, 2007, 2011, 2015, 2019
2 Birgit Prinz  Germany 14 24 0.58 1995, 1999, 2003, 2007, (2011)
Abby Wambach  United States 14 25 0.56 2003, 2007, 2011, 2015
4 Michelle Akers  United States 12 13 0.92 1991, (1995), 1999
5 Sun Wen  China 11 20 0.55 1991, 1995, 1999, 2003
Cristiane  Brazil 11 21 0.52 (2003), 2007, 2011, (2015), 2019
Bettina Wiegmann  Germany 11 22 0.50 1991, 1995, 1999, 2003

Who has the most FIFA Women’s World Cup titles

USA (4) Germany (2) Norway (1) Japan (1)